November 20, 2019

Something Just Like This by Jennifer Probst

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Probst comes a new story in her Stay series.

Jonathan Lake is the beloved NYC mayor who’s making a run for Governor. His widowed status and close relationship with his daughter casts him as the darling of the press, and the candidate to beat, but behind the flash of the cameras, things are spinning out of control. It all has to do with his strait laced, ruthlessly organized assistant. Her skills and reserved demeanor are perfect to run his campaign, but her brilliant brain has become a temptation he’s been fighting for too long. Can he convince her to take a chance on a long-term campaign for love or will his efforts end up in scandal?

Alyssa Block has admired the NYC mayor for a long time, but her secret crush is kept ruthlessly buried under a mountain of work. Besides, she’s not his type, and office scandals is not in her job position. But when they retreat to an upstate horse farm for a secluded weekend, the spark between them catches flame, and Jonathan sets those stinging blue-eyes on winning her. Can she convince him to focus on the upcoming election, or will she succumb to the sweet promise of a different future?

**For fans of Jennifer Probst’s Stay series, Something Just Like This is book four in that series.**

**Every 1001 Dark Nights novella is a standalone story. For new readers, it’s an introduction to an author’s world. And for fans, it’s a bonus book in the author’s series. We hope you'll enjoy each one as much as we do.**



Having read the other novels in this series, I automatically jumped to read this novella addition. While I didn't expect to hate this novella, I didn't expect to love it as much as I did! I usually like the development of plot and characters throughout a full-length novel. Something Just Like This may be lacking in length but definitely did not fall short! 

Jonathan and Alyssa's chemistry is undeniable, even though the two of them will do what they can to put their feelings for each other aside for the sake of their working relationship. I loved the ties to other characters you're familiar with from the rest of the series (ie Chloe)! The emotions are strong and the story is something you can easily devour in one sitting. Jennifer Probst has a way with her words and I love her writing. This book was no different--definitely a welcome addition to the series.

October 8, 2019

Blog Tour: Bad For You by Taylor Holloway



The boy next door.
Star of my teenage fantasies.
My tormentor.

After serving as an army doctor in some of the most dangerous places on Earth, Brandon has finally come home. And he’s brought his cocky, alpha attitude and rugged good looks with him. To my hospital. He’s still a loose cannon and I’m right in his sights.

But instead of begging for him to stop, this good girl is having to stop herself from begging for more.
I thought I put my obsession with this moody bad boy to bed.

It now appears that's right where he wants me.

I’ve always made good choices.
But this time I’m worried I’ll pick the one that's bad for me, even if Brandon feels oh so right.

Bad for You is a sweet and sexy romance featuring a bully turned military hero and a smarty-pants girl next door on a twisted road to happily ever after. It stands alone with no cheating, cliffhangers, or nonsense.


Bad For You is available for purchase:



This was a sweet and easy read. Not your typical "second chance" romance, Aimee and Brandon actually has everything you can think of against them from the get-go, deeply seeded in their very horrible past (think terrible childhood bullying). From the start, all I could think of was, 'there's no way she can give him any chance...' so to watch Aimee fight herself throughout to was a lot of emotions for me to get through. As much as I supposed to end up loving Brandon, I feel like I still didn't completely embracing him even by the end of the book. It was definitely a case of, "if she's happy, then I can accept him..." Overall, the writing made the book easy to read and the story kept the pages rolling. I didn't go gaga for the characters but can appreciate a good story!




About the Author

Taylor Holloway is a bestselling romance author who writes sweet and sexy stories with just enough of an edge to offset all the feels. Her books are specifically Taylor-ed to make you blush, cry, laugh, and swoon. She's an Austin native with a penchant for bad puns, strong margaritas, expensive shoes, and shiny things. When she's not writing, she's working a hilariously bland corporate job, spoiling her husband and cat, or going for long walks in the dark. 

Connect with Taylor Holloway on:
       


September 6, 2019

Cover Reveal: Great and Precious Things by Rebecca Yarros


By Rebecca Yarros
Release Day -  February 25th, 2020

How do you define yourself when others have already decided who you are?

Six years ago, when Camden Daniels came back from war without his younger brother, no one in the small town of Alba, Colorado, would forgive him—especially his father. He left, swearing never to return.

But a desperate message from his father brings it all back. The betrayal. The pain. And the need to go home again.

But home is where the one person he still loves is waiting. Willow. The one woman he can never have. Because there are secrets buried in Alba that are best left in the dark.

If only he could tell his heart to stay locked away when she whispers she’s always loved him, and always will…

Great and Precious Things is a heart-wrenching story about family, betrayal, and ultimately how far we're willing to go on behalf of those who need us most.


Great and Precious Things is available for pre-order:





About the Author

Rebecca Yarros is a hopeless romantic and a lover of all things coffee, chocolate, and paleo. She is the author of The Last Letter, the Renegade series, and the Flight & Glory series, which includes Full Measures, the award-winning Eyes Turned Skyward, Beyond What is Given, and Hallowed Ground. She loves military heroes and has been blissfully married to hers for eighteen years.

When she’s not writing, she’s tying hockey skates for her four sons, sneaking in some guitar time, or watching brat-pack movies with her two daughters. She lives in Colorado with the hottest Apache pilot ever, their rambunctious gaggle of kids, and an English bulldog who is more stubborn than sweet. Having fostered and adopted their youngest daughter, Rebecca is passionate about helping others in the foster system through her nonprofit, One October.

Connect with Rebecca Yarros on:
         


July 25, 2019

All Roads Lead to You by Jennifer Probst


All bets are off in this heartfelt romance by New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Probst.

Happily single, Harper Bishop trusts in only one passion—her rescue farm and healing her thoroughbred, Phoenix. Her dream is to lead him to the Triple Crown. But how unreachable is it without experience or help? A handsome new guest at her family’s B&B has what it takes to make it come true. And with his irresistible brogue, warm smile, and soothing touch, he’s a major distraction.

After a bitter betrayal, horse trainer Aidan O’Connor has fled Ireland for a vacation in New York’s Hudson Valley. When he sees the horse with the fighting spirit, he’s inspired with a new goal: to train Phoenix to win. He’s also facing an unexpected new challenge: his feelings for Harper.

How can she dare to open her heart to a man who’ll be there only long enough to break it?

So Harper and Aidan agree: try to keep it professional, and focus only on Phoenix and the finish line. But along the way, they could also learn a few lessons in love, trust, and taking chances. And, as painful as it promises to be, saying goodbye.


This installment was definitely my favourite in this series. It could be because of the tie-in with the horses and I love all things equine. There was enough of a mystery surrounding the vacationer, Aidan, that kept the story going right to the end. His attraction to Harper right off the bat is undeniable. Harper's insecurities have buried her deep in her life's work and she just has no time for anyone else in her life aside from her animals. There's a lot of wall-breaking happening between the two of them through the course of this novel and it's just so heartwarming to read. Jennifer's writing is just easy to read and get lost in. The story flows easily and there's not a lot of downtime so it's easy to get wrapped up and finish this book quickly. Fabulous end to another great series by Jennifer!


May 20, 2019

Missed Kiss (Nerdy Thirties, #2) by Cassie Mae


Revenge isn't the only thing on her mind. 


Bevin Young has two things in life: her pathetic career in blogging and her service dog. As the money flow comes to a surprising halt, she desperately searches for the next big viral story. As luck would have it, the Thirty under Thirty most eligible bachelor list just hit the news, and a certain stupid face is right at number one.

The perfect plot forms in Bevin's head. She could save her career and serve up some sweet, sweet justice all in one swoop. She'll just have to dress and act the part, snagging Mr. Eligible Buttface and use him for the story.

Hopefully she can keep her heart locked up this time when she faces Robbie Sterling: CEO, stupid handsome, and the once love of her life.

Reminiscent of How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days meets Never Been Kissed, Missed Kiss is a story every romantic comedy lover shouldn’t simply pass over! 


I have missed the realness and relateability to Cassie's novels! Missed Kiss was no different in those terms. It brings to light just how important mental health is and the dire effect of anxiety and the toll it can take on someone. Robbie and Bevie's story was a cute one--as per usual, not your usual, cookie-cutter romance novel but it's the quirkiness of Cassie's plots and characters that draw me in. I only wish that Robbie had to do a bit more grovelling for what he did to Bevie!! The writing is easy to get into and the flow of the story makes it easy to get wrapped up in the story. A great addition to the Nerdy Thirties series!